Sir Richard Friend



T
E

Cavendish Professor of Physics at the Department of Physics, University of Cambridge. He has pioneered the study of organic polymers as semiconductors, and his research group has demonstrated that they can be used in a wide range of semiconductor devices, including light-emitting diodes and transistors.

He co-founded Cambridge Display Technology Ltd in 1994 and Plastic Logic Ltd in 2000 to develop directly-printed polymer transistor circuits. Currently, he is working on the use of polymer and related materials for thin-film photovoltaic diode applications.

Staff

  • Keith Alden
  • Dr Lorraine Byrne
  • Deirdre Caden
  • Brian Callagy
  • Mary Colclough
  • James Doyle
  • Dr Colm Faulkner
  • Emma Leahy
  • Colm McAtamney
  • Cathal McAuley
  • Brendan Ring
profile

Keith Alden
Business Development Manager
T +353 (0) 1-8963485
E keith.alden@tcd.ie

profile

Dr Lorraine Byrne
Executive Director
T +353 (0)1 896 4130
E lorraine.byrne@tcd.ie

profile

Deirdre Caden
AMBER Funding Manager
T T +353 (0)1 896 3403
E deirdre.caden@tcd.ie

profile

Brian Callagy
IP Contracts & Commercialisation Manager
T +353 (0) 1-8963032
E brian.callagy@tcd.ie

profile

Mary Colclough
Comms, Outreach & Public Affairs Manager
T +353 (0)1 896 3022
E mary.colclough@tcd.ie

profile

James Doyle
Project Manager
T +353 (0) 1-8964838
E james.doyle@tcd.ie

profile

Dr Colm Faulkner
Business Development Executive
T +353 (0)1 896 4170
E cfaulkne@tcd.ie

profile

Emma Leahy
EU Grants Manager
T +353 (0)1 8964085
E Emma.Leahy@tcd.ie

profile

Colm McAtamney
AMBER General Manager
T +353 (0)1 896 3092
E colm.mcatamney@tcd.ie

profile

Cathal McAuley
AML Operations Manager
T +353 (0)1 896 4933
E cathal.mcauley@tcd.ie

profile

Brendan Ring
Head of Business Development
T +353 (0)1 896 3088
E brendan.ring@tcd.ie

Vacancies

  • Open Call for EDGE Scholarship Applications
profile

Open Call for EDGE Scholarship Applications

EDGE Fellowships are for experienced researchers of any nationality and residing worldwide, seeking a prestigious career development fellowship based in one of ten of Ireland’s third-level institutes. EDGE aims to form the next generation of thought leaders in ICT and develop their skill set to actively interact, collaborate and engage with industry. EDGE fellows will be researchers who are technically strong in their own discipline and capable of performing high-value, interdisciplinary research. The fellowships will provide researchers with the opportunity to work closely with their choice of academic and industry partners relevant to their research, training and professional career development objectives.

Find further information on your eligibility and the application process here.


Download PDF of vacancy details.