Prof Dipankar Das Sarma
Scientific Advisory Board


Prof Sarma is Professor and Chairman of the Solid State & Structural Chemistry Unit, Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore. He has more than 400 scientific publications with close to 12,000 citations and an H index of 58 involving experimental and theoretical studies covering broad areas of Solid State Chemistry, Spectroscopy, Condensed Matter Physics, Materials Science, and Nanoscience. The most dominant underlying research theme of his group is Electronic Structure of Materials. They use it, investigated experimentally as well as theoretically, to probe and understand a variety of properties and phenomena. Besides heading the Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit of the Indian Institute of Science, he serves as a guest professor at the Uppsala University, Sweden, a Distinguished Scientist at the CSIR-Network Institutes of Solar Energy, an honorary professor at the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru and a distinguished visiting professor at the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata. He is an elected Fellow of the American Physical Society, The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World, the National Academy of Sciences, India, and the Indian Academy of Sciences and holds the fellowship of the Asia-Pacific Academy of Materials (APAM).He is also a J. C. Bose National Fellow and Homi Bhabha Fellow.


  • Dr Lorraine Byrne
  • Deirdre Caden
  • Mary Colclough
  • Emma Leahy
  • Colm McAtamney
  • Cathal McAuley
  • Brendan Ring
  • Richard Twohig
  • Dr Colm Faulkner

Dr Lorraine Byrne
Executive Director
T +353 (0)1 896 4130


Deirdre Caden
AMBER Funding Manager
T T +353 (0)1 896 3403


Mary Colclough
Comms, Outreach & Public Affairs Manager
T +353 (0)1 896 3022


Emma Leahy
EU Grants Manager
T +353 (0)1 8964085


Colm McAtamney
AMBER General Manager
T +353 (0)1 896 3092


Cathal McAuley
AML Operations Manager
T +353 (0)1 896 4933


Brendan Ring
Head of Business Development
T +353 (0)1 896 3088


Richard Twohig
Project Manager
T +353 (0)1 896 3016


Dr Colm Faulkner
Business Development Executive
T +353 (0)1 896 4170


  • Open Call for EDGE Scholarship Applications

Open Call for EDGE Scholarship Applications

EDGE Fellowships are for experienced researchers of any nationality and residing worldwide, seeking a prestigious career development fellowship based in one of ten of Ireland’s third-level institutes. EDGE aims to form the next generation of thought leaders in ICT and develop their skill set to actively interact, collaborate and engage with industry. EDGE fellows will be researchers who are technically strong in their own discipline and capable of performing high-value, interdisciplinary research. The fellowships will provide researchers with the opportunity to work closely with their choice of academic and industry partners relevant to their research, training and professional career development objectives.

Find further information on your eligibility and the application process here.

Download PDF of vacancy details.