Prof. David Awschalom


Professor David Awschalom is a leading scientist in spintronics and quantum information engineering. He was a research staff member and manager at the IBM Watson Research Center, and then a Professor of Physics and of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of California-Santa Barbara where he served as the Peter Clarke Director of the California NanoSystems Institute. He is currently the Liew Family Professor in Spintronics and Quantum Information in the Institute for Molecular Engineering at the University of Chicago. His research efforts involve understanding and coherently controlling the spins of electrons, ions, and nuclei in the solid state for fundamental studies of quantum systems, as well as potential applications in computing, imaging, and encryption. His group has experimental activities probing optical and magnetic interactions in semiconductor quantum structures, spin dynamics and coherence in condensed matter systems, macroscopic quantum phenomena in nanometer-scale magnets, and implementations of quantum information processing in the solid state. He has developed a variety of femtosecond-resolved spatiotemporal spectroscopies and micromagnetic sensing techniques aimed at exploring charge and spin motion in the quantum domain.

Professor Awschalom received an IBM Outstanding Innovation Award, the Materials Research Society Outstanding Investigator Prize, the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics International Magnetism Prize and Néel Medal, the American Physical Society Oliver E. Buckley Prize, the European Physical Society Europhysics Prize, the American Association for the Advancement of Science Newcomb Cleveland Prize, the Materials Research Society David Turnbull Award, and the American Physical Society Julius Lilienfeld Prize. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Dr. Awschalom is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the European Academy of Sciences.


  • Dr Lorraine Byrne
  • Deirdre Caden
  • Mary Colclough
  • Emma Leahy
  • Colm McAtamney
  • Cathal McAuley
  • Brendan Ring
  • Richard Twohig
  • Dr Colm Faulkner

Dr Lorraine Byrne
Executive Director
T +353 (0)1 896 4130


Deirdre Caden
AMBER Funding Manager
T T +353 (0)1 896 3403


Mary Colclough
Comms, Outreach & Public Affairs Manager
T +353 (0)1 896 3022


Emma Leahy
EU Grants Manager
T +353 (0)1 8964085


Colm McAtamney
AMBER General Manager
T +353 (0)1 896 3092


Cathal McAuley
AML Operations Manager
T +353 (0)1 896 4933


Brendan Ring
Head of Business Development
T +353 (0)1 896 3088


Richard Twohig
Project Manager
T +353 (0)1 896 3016


Dr Colm Faulkner
Business Development Executive
T +353 (0)1 896 4170


  • Open Call for EDGE Scholarship Applications

Open Call for EDGE Scholarship Applications

EDGE Fellowships are for experienced researchers of any nationality and residing worldwide, seeking a prestigious career development fellowship based in one of ten of Ireland’s third-level institutes. EDGE aims to form the next generation of thought leaders in ICT and develop their skill set to actively interact, collaborate and engage with industry. EDGE fellows will be researchers who are technically strong in their own discipline and capable of performing high-value, interdisciplinary research. The fellowships will provide researchers with the opportunity to work closely with their choice of academic and industry partners relevant to their research, training and professional career development objectives.

Find further information on your eligibility and the application process here.

Download PDF of vacancy details.